Measuring Stick

CIMG6845a
Those were part of a set for turkey shoot.
A “turkey shoot” is a shooting contest where frozen turkeys are awarded as prizes. The shoot is most commonly held, using shotguns aimed at paper targets about 25-35 yards away. The bales are put behind the targets to absorb the bullets. I did not participate, because the waiting line was too long. I guess the measuring stick is used to set up the targets.
More Sepia Scenes picks here

13 Responses to “Measuring Stick”

  1. annie Says:

    Interesting picture. I’m wondering what the measuring stick is doing there.

  2. Vogon Poet Says:

    Nice stick, neat bales, but where is the link? Is it a riddle?

  3. Your EG Tour Guide Says:

    Are the bales of hay for an animal you have?

  4. ellievellie Says:

    Those were part of a set for turkey shoot.
    A “turkey shoot” is a shooting contest where frozen turkeys are awarded as prizes. The shoot is most commonly held, using shotguns aimed at paper targets about 25-35 yards away. The bales are put behind the targets to absorb the bullets. I did not participate, because the waiting line was too long. I guess the measuring stick is used to set up the targets.

  5. Baron's Life Says:

    I never knew this actually happened in real life…thanks for the education I got here…did hubby participate in the shoot?
    This one of other excellent shot..it’s really like being there

  6. Ralph Says:

    Hay (or is it Hey!) is a naturally sepia straw, and is perfect for Sepia Scenes. When I was younger, I thought that a ‘turkey shoot’ actually meant the speedy LIVE ones. It made sense to me then…

  7. ellievellie Says:

    Originally they were shooting live turkeys – not anymore – not in public 🙂

  8. dianne Says:

    the hay appears to be premature gray 🙂

  9. Anna Says:

    Great shot Ellie!
    Have a nice day 🙂

    Anna

  10. kaye Says:

    hay lends itself naturally to sepia, the measuring stick is a peculiar sight next to the bales, thanks for the explanation. If you’d like to drop by and see my sepia scene & window views, they are here. thanks!

  11. Heidi Says:

    What a cool stack of hay. I have heard of turkey shoots, but I admit I have never participated in one. I would be anxious that I would miss and shoot a whole through the side of the barn. But that’s my kind of luck.
    If you’d like to stop by my blog I’m at Cake Crumbs.

  12. carolyn Says:

    Very nice photo…

  13. maryt/theteach Says:

    ellie, just glad that now frozen turkeys are involved not the alive kind. Thanks for participating in Sepia Scenes… 🙂

Leave a Reply

