Tiger

CIMG7846

CIMG7847a
Tiger Swallowtail is the name of the butterfly.
More Summer Stock Sunday Picks here

14 Responses to “Tiger”

  1. Dimple Says:

    These are beautiful, especially the second one.

  2. moorebloglife Says:

    that is gorgeous, out here in Calif we have the southern tiger swallowtail and it has much less blue than this one in you area, just beautiful!

    mine is here
    http://www.moorebloglife.com/2009/08/22/summer-stock-on-saturday-and-sunday-cuz-i-am-lazy/

  3. Thom Says:

    Thank you so much for stopping by my playground. It’s much appreciated. That butterfly is beautiful. Excellent picture. Also, I will be adding you to my side bar. Congrats for whatever it is worth as you made the 1000th comment on my blog for August. I always feature the person that makes that comment. It will be announced with my Sunday Stealing post. Thanks for commenting 🙂 Aloha

  4. Leora Says:

    What lovely photos of a beautiful butterfly.

  5. Vogon Poet Says:

    I would like to catch (with my camera!) such a beautiful butterfly. I like the composition of the first image, but the ‘portrait’ in the second is gorgeous.

  6. bim Says:

    A fabulous chap!

  7. dianne Says:

    I love the blue highlights he has!!

  8. Baron's Life Says:

    Ellie, excellent job
    Congrats on making it on Thom’s blog.

  9. Sara Says:

    She (he?) is so gorgeous, with that special touch of blue for contrast to those amazing wings.

  10. maryt/theteach Says:

    An absolute beauty! 🙂

  11. Robin from Israel Says:

    He’s (she’s? How does one know, anyway?) beautiful! Now that you mention it, I haven’t seen any butterflies around here all month. How odd.

  12. ellievellie Says:

    I checked – it is a HE. The female Tiger Swallowtail has very little yellow – it is mostly black. The tiger colored one is male 🙂 We learn every day 🙂

  13. kaye Says:

    what a gorgeous specimen, and a great shot.

  14. VickiS ~ FL Says:

    What a beautiful photos you have captured of the tiger swallowtail butterfly. He did such a good job posing for you! My camera is not so quick at taking butterfly photographs. Maybe when I get my new SLR camera this week I’ll have better luck.

Leave a Reply

