Chasing the Rainbow

CIMG7084

CIMG7085

CIMG7087a

We saw the rainbow while driving and I we chased it around the town. I realized later that I captured a double rainbow on one of the pictures. Wikipedia says: Secondary rainbows are caused by a double reflection of sunlight inside the raindrops. The dark area of unlit sky lying between the primary and secondary bows is called Alexander’s Band.
More Skywatch Friday Picks here

14 Responses to “Chasing the Rainbow”

  1. happilyretired Says:

    Oh … what a BEAUTIFUL rainbow! The last one I chased was on my birthday earlier this year. Thanks for sharing yours ;–)
    Hugs and blessings,

  2. Leora Says:

    Cool! I like your second photo – a classic rainbow, captured by your very own camera. Thanks for the doubles explanation.

  3. ellievellie Says:

    The double rainbow is also captured by my camera the same day just few minutes later. I did not realize it is a double until I loaded the pictures in the computer. This is the first time I saw a double bow.

  4. Judy Says:

    Great photos! I did not know about Alexander’s Band!! Thank you so much for sharing that!

  5. Greensboro Daily Photo Says:

    Love the title, Chasing the Rainbow. I saw it but was too lazy to chase. I think the trick, for me, is having an ace-in-the-hole spot to drive to quickly when the sky is beautiful. That way, I won’t land a Harris Teeter parking lot in the foreground!

    FIrst rainbow photo I’ve seen on skywatch. Great!

  6. Regina Says:

    What a lovely chase. Amazing.

  7. Baron's Life Says:

    Hope you enjoyed the chase

  8. Carletta Says:

    Beautiful! I was looking for one today as we had rain and sunshine. 🙂
    The doubles aren’t always this bright – you found a good one!

  9. Elaine Ling Says:

    I’ve always felt that rainbows are magical!! 🙂
    Especially when they disappear or appear bit by bit right in front of your eyes 🙂

  10. Maria Berg Says:

    I love looking at rainbows, it is hard to get them on photo. MB

  11. Vogon Poet Says:

    It so rare to see one rainbow here and you got two, even taking a good photo!

    Sorry if I’m late: Happy Birthday Boris!

  12. Judy Says:

    Thanks for your comments about the tower (I bet there is a technical name for it)! It is actually still a functioning church, in the United stream of Christianity.

  13. Stephany Says:

    I would have chased that rainbow too. Beautiful shots!

  14. Arija Says:

    Lovely rainbow!

Leave a Reply

