Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC

CIMG0734a
It is a jewel in the middle of the Appalachia Mountains. They say it is a home – looks like castle to me. Endless gardens and chance to try the brand wines – if you are near Asheville – don’t miss the experience! Below is the clock tower of the winery of the Biltmore Estate.
CIMG0741a

7 Responses to “Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC”

  1. Shaun Says:

    Phew Ellie, you are giving too much away, I thought your home looked like that?

  2. Sean Says:

    Let me try that again… sorry defaulted to the wrong spelling 🙂

  3. ellievellie Says:

    Ha-ha-ha! My home looks nothing like that – it is much better – I am able to clean it myself – it is called The 2 Bedroom Apartment 🙂 The kids have a summer cold – so I am stuck at home browsing my old pictures. This two were taken in 2004 – the road is full of people on the original photo – I tried my best to get rid of them yesterday and proudly present the view today 🙂

  4. Prospero Says:

    Is that what a home is supposed to look like? I’ve been doing it all wrong!

    Ellie, the steps are the indentations on my roof. In Bermuda, we do not have a municipal water system. We collect our own water, rain water, from our roof tops. It is then stored under the house in a tank.

    So, we must always be mindful of our water usage.

    My dad said the same thing about the watermelon (great minds think alike!)

  5. Leora Says:

    Does one family still own that thing? Sorry, at that extravagance, “thing” is the first noun that comes to mind. Is this “cotton” money”? It looks newer than when “cotton was king.” You got me curious. I’m used to seeing this sort of thing in New York, but not in the South (not that I’ve ever been south of DC, anyway).

  6. Baron's Life Says:

    I would love to have that for a home and all the perks that go with it…dreams….dreams and only dreams

  7. ellievellie Says:

    The Biltmore Estate is still family owned. The Vanderbilt family made their fortune on steam boats and railroads mainly. George Vanderbilt – who built the thing in 1895 was born in NY and split his life between Manhattan and Paris, France – the home is design to resemble French chateau. Downtown Asheville, NC had European style architecture – the reason is Vanderbilt gave the land to the town for free as long as they follow the style requirements. He loved the scenery in the mountains – and I totally understand that – I love the Appalachia. I enjoyed living in Asheville for 5 years. Many people moved there since then and the they have problems with car traffic overload now. The web-site for more info is http://www.biltmore.com

Leave a Reply

